Everything You Need
to Know about
California’s New
Marijuana Laws

Everything You Need
to Know about
California’s New
Marijuana Laws

Duration:

5 min

Created:

July 31, 2018

Category:

HOW TO

GOOD LIFE

www.goodlife.green

BUYING & SELLING

You must be 21 years of age to purchase marijuana

You must purchase from an authorized outlet

You may not sell Cannabis without the appropriate license

GROWING YOUR OWN

ALLOWED: Up to 6 cannabis plants

May not be visible to the public. Area secured with a lock.

Cities and counties have full discretion to outlaw growing cannabis outdoors
Landlords and property owners may prohibit the use, growth, and possession of cannabis.

Cannabis & Driving

If you are under the influence of cannabis, a police officer can conduct a field sobriety test. If it is deemed you are under the influence, you may be charged with a DUI

It is illegal to have an “open container” of cannabis in your vehicle while driving

If you travel with cannabis, you must have it in an approved, sealed container. If is it not in an approved container, it must be stored in the trunk.

Consumption Laws

Cannabis can only be consumed on private property

You can not use cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school, daycare, or youth center

Employers have the right to prohibit the use of cannabis by their employees.

Travel Law

Cannabis may NOT be consumed on national parks or federal lands - even if that land is located in California

It is illegal to cross state lines with cannabis - even if the state you are entering has legalized cannabis

Cities and counties may have different regulations